March Message from NAHQ Leadership

March Message from NAHQ Leadership

Three months into 2018, and there are signs (literally and figuratively) of NAHQ being on the move. Just last week, the beautiful sign you see in the photo was installed and represents the final touch at NAHQ’s new headquarters.

Our profession continues to be on the move toward gaining even greater recognition through the vital work undertaken by NAHQ leaders and volunteers. In late February, the NAHQ presidential line of succession including myself, Immediate Past President Nancy Curdy, and President-elect Sandra Jones met with Stephanie Mercado, NAHQ’s CEO and executive director for a two-day planning session as we continue to advance the profession and raise the visibility of the work you do every day.

In the past few weeks, NAHQ volunteers have been focused on updating our Code of Ethics as healthcare quality advances from an occupation to a profession. This vital document will outline how all healthcare quality professionals should engage with the profession and serve as a guide for handling various questions and situations we may experience in today’s healthcare quality environment. You will see this work product published later in 2018.

The Test Development Team and the Item Writing Work Group are another group of volunteers that recently convened. These volunteers are tasked with developing and reviewing items for the Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality® (CPHQ) exam. Their review ensures the exam questions address the knowledge that today’s CPHQs must master to stay current with the evolving healthcare quality environment.

Our heartfelt thanks and appreciation to these key groups for their time and commitment to both NAHQ and the profession.

Code of Ethics
Co-leaders: Jason Gillikin and Andrew Kopolow

Focus Group:

  • Tricia Elliott
  • Karen Mikula
  • Lenard Parisi
  • Michael Friedman
  • Susan Lott
  • Linda Scribner
  • Debra Olson
  • Glenda Stewart

Test Development Team
Chair: Gayle Hurt
Bette Akpan
Rebecca Cahill
Steve Chinn
Denise Comeau
Cindy Hamilton
Albert (Irv) Koehler
Erin Mullaghy
April Taylor
Kori Wolcott

Item Writing Work Group
Chair: April Taylor
Judy Bielby
Rebecca Cahill
Kama Ferryman
Sheranda Fesler
Ursula Fletcher
Lakesha Kinnerson
Zahava Lipton
Suzanne Martin
Nate Schueller
Carla Snyder
Carol Ann Wentzel

For those of you who may be interested in serving as a NAHQ volunteer, the call for applications will open this summer. The contributions of all our volunteers raise the visibility and credibility of our profession and NAHQ.

Again, thank you and here’s to continuous recognition of our profession.

Carole Pulaski, MSA BSN CPHQ
NAHQ President